Monday, September 15, 2008

5 stages of grief

As applied to me coming to terms with the end of the season....
  1. Denial:
    • Example - "The snow season's not over yet, there's still a whole month til it closes! I can still ski!"
  2. Anger:
    • Example - "Why aren't the lifts opening? I came all this way and they're not opening the lifts, this sucks!!"
  3. Bargaining:
    • Example - "What if I just walk up the hill anyway and ski on my own? maybe that will work..."
  4. Depression:
    • Example - "I'm so sad, why bother trying . . . What's the point? Maybe if I buy some snow gear I'll feel better..."
  5. Acceptance:
    • Example - "It really is over. But there's always next season, and in the meantime surfing!!"